2012 Hoff Award Winners

Congratulations to Gregory Baldwin ’12 of Delta Kappa Epsilon for winning the 2012 Aaron O. Hoff Award for Service Above Self.

You can view the photo gallery of the awards ceremony at this link, which shows Brother Baldwin (right) receiving the award.

We’d also like to recognize Phi Kappa Psi for winning the 2012 award for Outstanding Living Group. Their win comes on the heels of Delta Kappa Epsilon receiving the award in 2011.

Full award list for 2012 Hoff Award Winners.

This marks the 22nd Annual Hoff Awards, which are named for Aaron O. Hoff:

“On May 9, 1832, at nine o’clock in the morning, an African American student, Aaron O. Hoff ’36, had blown the horn that called 43 students and three teachers to their first class at Lafayette” (Gendebien, 1986).

Since 1991, the Office of Student Life Programs has been honoring Aaron’s legacy with an annual service and leadership recognition ceremony. Each spring, students, faculty, staff, administrators, and community members receive Hoff Awards for leadership, volunteerism, teaching, and service to the Lafayette community.

The Aaron O. Hoff Award is Service Above Self Award, presented to those “who best exemplify the qualities of caring and concern for others in service activities.”


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *